Questions/Comments? We're here to help: (866) 267-4638

Software Configuration

Eudora Icon

Eudora 5

Eudora is an email program distributed with the Hubris Communications CD-ROM. This page is designed to show you how to configure the various options within Eudora 5 to work with your Hubris Communications email account.

Checking Options in Eudora

  1. Launch the "Options" dialog box.
    1. Within Eudora, click the "Tools" menu.
    2. Choose "Options..." from that menu.
    3. In the dialog box that appears, click the "Getting Started" icon, which appears at the top of the list on the left-hand side of the window.
    4. To proceed through these instructions, click the appropriate icon in the left-hand column.
  2. Options: Getting Started
    Real Name
    You may type whatever you wish in this field. It will appear in emails that you send.
    Return Address
    If you specify a different address here, replies that people send to your emails will be sent to that different address. We recommend you leave this field blank or leave it set to the same address as your email address.
    Mail Server (Incoming)
    This must be set correctly for you to be able to receive email.
    Login Name
    This must be set to the first part of your email address. Do not include the @-symbol or the domain name.
    SMTP Server (Outgoing)
    This must be set correctly for you to be able to send email.
    Allow Authentication
    This option should be checked.
  3. Options: Checking Mail
    Mail Server
    This setting will be carried over form the previous screen.
    Login Name
    This setting will be carried over from the previous screen.
    Other options on this page should be left at their default values.
  4. Options: Incoming Mail
    Server Configuration
    This option must be set to "POP."
    Leave Mail on Server
    If you are using a mobile computer to check your email, or if you routinely check your email from two locations (home and office, for example) you may wish to leave email on the server so that it can also be downloaded on another computer.
    To do this, turn on the option "Leave mail on server." Set the next two options according to your preferences.
    Important: If you use this option, make certain that one of your computers is not configured to leave messages on the server. Email must be removed from the server frequently to prevent your incoming mailbox from becoming full. For most users, the option should always be left off.
    Other options on this page should be left at their default values.
  5. Options: Sending Mail
    • Most settings on this page are carried over from previous screens. Options on this page should be left at their default values.
  6. Options: Composing Mail
    • Options on this page should be left at their default values.
  7. Options: Internet Dialip
    Have Eudora Connect Using Dial-Up Networking
    This option should be enabled if you use a Hubris Communications Dial-Up Account to access the Internet. DSL/Broadband customers should leave this option disabled.
    Hang-up after Receiving and Sending
    If you want to stay connected to the Internet after downloading your email, this option should be unchecked. If you want Eudora to automatically hang-up your Internet connection every time you download your email, leave this option checked. (The recommended setting is unchecked.)
    Close Connection on Exit
    If you want to keep your connection alive even after closing Eudora, leave this option unchecked. If you want Eudora to hang-up your Internet connection when you exit the program, leave this option checked. (The recommended setting is unchecked.)
    Entry
    This option must be set to your Hubris Communications Dial-Up setting. For most customers, "Hubris" should appear as an option in the list.
  8. Options: Replying
    • Options on this page may be left at their default values.
  9. Options: Attachments
    • Options on this page may be left at their default values.
  10. Eudora includes many other options that you can configure. These should be left at their default values. Only advanced users should edit these settings.
Back to Top